Is Sriracha Vegan?

Is Sriracha Vegan

This one’s for the hot sauce fans! Sriracha is a popular chili sauce that is becoming a household favorite for those who enjoy a little heat with their meals. For anyone following a plant-based diet, this can be a great condiment to give food that extra kick to it. But is Sriracha vegan?

What’s Inside?

Sriracha is a hot sauce originating in Southeast Asia, mainly Thailand and Vietnam. It is a delicious condiment used to add some spice and delectable flavor to foods, like soups, noodles, or breakfast dishes.

The following are the main ingredients that go into making the sauce:

  • Chili
  • Sugar 
  • Garlic
  • Salt
  • Distilled vinegar
  • Potassium sorbate 
  • Sodium bisulfite 
  • Xanthan gum

The name Sriracha is from a city on the coast of Thailand, Si Racha. A woman named Ms. Thanom Chakkapak is given credit as the creator of this spicy sauce. In the beginning, it was used solely by her loved ones such as friends and family. However, following great feedback, she decided to turn it into a business and share her recipe with the rest of the world.

The original recipe of Sriracha, mainly found in Thailand, is still in production but difficult to find outside of the country. Today, the famous Sriracha sauce Huy Fong – also lovingly known as the rooster sauce – came about in the ‘80s. David Tran, who came from Vietnam founded Huy Fong Foods and manufactured his own version of the spicy sauce.

They quickly became the recognized brand selling the sauce even though many other brands produce the same. Oftentimes when people mention Sriracha they are talking about the sauce with a green cap and rooster on the front of its bottle.

Is it Vegan?

Sorry peeps, Sriracha is not vegan.

Unfortunately for vegan fans of the famous Huy Fong Sriracha sauce, the sugar used to make the sauce is not suitable for a vegan diet as bone char is typically used in the process of bleaching the sugar.

If you aren’t comfortable with the bone char, then it is better to stay away from the Huy Fong brand. Although there is a possibility of changing the process in the future, the current fact remains that an animal product is found in one of their manufacturing processes. 

Vegan Alternatives

Sriracha is now a common product that can be bought in most major supermarkets. If you are able to, buy sriracha that has been marked vegan or organic. That is only if you want to be extremely cautious.

The below sauces are explicitly vegan:

  • Waitrose Sriracha
  • Yellowbird Organic Sriracha
  • Organicville Sriracha
  • Eaten Alive Smoked Sriracha

All things considered, for vegans, there are plenty of plant-based Sriracha brands to choose from. 

Tashi Odingo

Tashi is a young female African writer, passionate about the dynamics of growth and the essential introspective lessons learned through both reading and writing.

Is Soy Sauce Vegan
Previous Story

Is Soy Sauce Vegan?

is rum vegan
Next Story

Is Rum Vegan?