Peanut butter is a fan favorite! From young kids to seasoned foodies, the creamy paste is usually a big hit. Individuals who are starting a plant-based diet, however, may be wondering “is peanut butter vegan?”
You will find the answer to that question in this guide!
What’s in Peanut Butter?
Peanut butter is a food paste that is made of grounded peanuts. Some brands, however, like to add additional ingredients.
Palm oil is a popular extra ingredient in peanut butter, added to give it a creamy texture, and salt is added to balance the taste. Also, some peanut butter contains honey, sugar, and molasses.
Is It Vegan?
Yes, peanut butter is vegan!
But there is a catch! Most peanut butter is vegan since there is a mixture of ground peanuts and salt. However, some aren’t vegan friendly because they may contain animal-derived products like honey.
Honey is usually a point for contention, but it is mostly excluded from vegan diets because of its method of production. You should check our “Is Honey Vegan?” article for an in-depth analysis of the matter.
Additionally, peanut butter than contains palm oil may not be suitable for you. The palm oil industry’s deforestation is harming the natural habitat of monkeys and apes. Thus, for ethical vegans, palm oil-based products would arguably not be considered “vegan.”
Moreover, peanut butter that contains refined sugar cane, which is sometimes bleached using bone char, is not vegan. Fortunately, this method is only used on very rare occasions. Most producers do not use sugar made this way.
The safest way to find out if your peanut butter is vegan is to check the label. Some products have certified vegan labels. Those are always your safest bets!
Others do not have the label but might be vegan. A careful scan of the ingredients provided on the package is good enough for you to decide.