Is Fanta Vegan?

is fanta vegan

Fanta is a globally recognized brand but is it suitable for a plant-based lifestyle? In this article, we answer the question: “Is Fanta vegan?”

What’s Inside?

Fanta is a carbonated soft drink (containing carbonated water, a sweetener, and a natural or artificial flavoring). Made in 1940, it is the second oldest brand of The Coca-Cola Company. It was first created in Germany, due to ingredient shortages during the Second World War. 

However, today’s Fanta is different and became flavored with citrus fruits in the 1950s. A bottling plant in Naples, Italy, started producing and selling Fanta Orange in 1955, using locally sourced citrus fruits. Hence, there are many different flavors of Fanta with the most popular being the orange drink.

 The ingredients used to make Fanta include:

  • Carbonated water 
  • High fructose corn syrup 
  • Citric acid
  • Sodium benzoate (to protect taste)
  • Natural flavors
  • Modified food starch 
  • Sodium polyphosphates
  • Glycerol ester of rosin 
  • Colorings

Fanta Soda comes in 16 different flavors, although only a few are widely available. Some of the flavors other than orange include blackcurrant, pineapple, grape, strawberry, and many more. 

Is it Vegan?

Vegan Fanta

Yes, Fanta is vegan!

According to The Coca Cola company, many of the drinks they produce are vegan-friendly, meaning they do not contain any animal products of any kind. 

The main concern is whether or not they use sugar that is suitable for vegans. This is because, during the making of sugar, bone char plays a role in the process. The white color of sugar comes from this, although the sugar does not actually contain bone char, most vegans would not eat this kind of refined sugar. 

Coca Cola uses vegan sugar in all the Fanta products, as well as many of all of their other products, but not quite all of them. As far as Fanta goes, they’re 100% vegan, all 16 different flavors, according to the conglomerate.

Even though The Coca Cola Company does not test on animals anymore, since 2007, during the development stages, colorants were tested on animals such as mice, rats, or dogs. They are therefore animal-free, just not cruelty-free by some. 

Fanta has gone through exhaustive testing during which no meat and animal derivatives were found in the sodas. However, it is up to you whether you trust The Coca Cola Company or not. Judging by their past record, some vegans prefer to stay away from the company’s products for ethical reasons. But if you are basing your decision on whether or not to consume something purely on its ingredients, then Fanta is typically fine to drink.

Tashi Odingo

Tashi is a young female African writer, passionate about the dynamics of growth and the essential introspective lessons learned through both reading and writing.

Are Tortillas Vegan
Previous Story

Are Tortillas Vegan?

Is Cocoa Butter Vegan
Next Story

Is Cocoa Butter Vegan?