Is Coca Cola Vegan?

Is Coca-Cola Vegan

The Coca Cola drink is arguably one of the most famous soft drinks across the globe. Over the years, the soft drink made by The Coca Cola Company has been vilified over its high sugar content. However, with more people opting for a vegan lifestyle, the big question is whether Coca Cola is vegan-friendly.

In this article, we answer the question: “Is Coca Cola Vegan?

What’s Inside?

Best enjoyed chilled, Coca Cola is a famous drink that has been around since 1886. In 2005, The Coca-Cola Company launched Coke Zero. This was to provide customers with a sugar and calorie-free drink.

Ingredients used in making Coca-Cola:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Sugar
  • Colour (Caramel E150d)
  • Phosphoric Acid
  • Natural Flavorings  
  • Caffeine

The Coca-Cola Company uses the ingredients above to make the original Coca Cola. For Diet Coke and Coke Zero, some ingredients may vary. That said, is coke vegan?

Is it Vegan?

is coca cola vegan

Yes, Coca Cola is vegan.

The ingredients used in making coke are derived from plants. In their Frequently Asked Questions, the company addresses this question by saying:

“The vast majority of our drinks, including Coca-Cola, are suitable for vegetarians and vegans as they do not contain any animal derivatives.”

In addition, the company also acknowledged that some of their drinks are not suitable for both vegans and vegetarians. These drinks include:

  • Lilt
  • Lilt Zero
  • Kia-Ora Orange Squash No Added Sugar
  • Schweppes Orange Squash
  • Honest (Lemon and Honey)
  • Glaceau Vitaminwater Zero Sunshine and Multi V.

“This is because a few of our drinks do contain small traces of fish gelatine which is used as a stabilizer for the beta-carotene color. Honest Lemon and Honey contains honey and is therefore not suitable for vegans. In addition, some variants from the glaceau vitaminwater range contain vitamin D and this may be sourced from lanolin in sheep’s wool meaning that they also may not be suitable for vegans.”

The sugar used as part of the ingredients has always been a contentious issue. There is no way to fully ascertain if it’s all derived from plants only. However, the company has been adamant that it uses plant-based products only for its Coca Cola drinks.

Also, The Coca-Cola Company stopped testing on animals in 2007. Moreover, they also don’t directly fund any animal tests on their beverages.

Vegan Alternatives

is coke vegan

There is no denying that CocaCCola is vegan. This means that vegans can enjoy Coca Cola drinks. However, there are vegans who might have an issue with the sugar used in its ingredients. While it’s hard to know where coke gets their sugar from, they have maintained that they use plant-derived sugar.

If you are looking for other vegan alternatives or just want to have more vegan options, below are some of the drinks you can consider:

  • Coca-Cola Zero
  • Diet Coke
  • Sprite
  • Pepsi
  • Pepsi Max

Overall, as a vegan, you can drink all the various Coca Cola varieties as they are all vegan. Equally important, if you are in doubt, there are always other alternatives that you can consider.

Marion

Marion is a Kenya-based freelance writer who covers a wide range of topics from politics and business to health and nutrition.

Is Beer Vegan
Previous Story

Is Beer Vegan?

Is Pesto Vegan
Next Story

Is Pesto Vegan?