Are Smarties Vegan?

1
Are Smarties Vegan

If you are a candy lover, then we are quite sure you’ve had Smarties at one point in your life. But, are these sugar-coated candies vegan? In this article, we answer the question: “Are Smarties Vegan?”

What’s Inside?

Smarties are simple sugary candy rolls that come in various flavors. But, it’s important to note that there are two types of Smarties in the market. There are European-made Smarties and American-made Smarties.

H.I. Rowntree & Company initially made Smarties. However, Nestle currently makes Smarties in Europe. Similar to M&Ms, Smarties come in a variety of colors.

Ingredients used in making Smarties:

  • Dextrose
  • Citric acid
  • Calcium stearate
  • Natural flavors
  • Artificial flavors
  • Artificial colors (red 40, yellow 5, yellow 6, and blue 2)

The Smarties Company uses the above ingredients to make their Smarties. So, are Smarties vegan or not?

Are They Vegan?

vegan smarties

The simple answer? Yes.

However, this is dependent on the country as well as who is manufacturing them!

The Smarties Candy Rolls made by the Smarties Company are vegan. In fact, the company is very proud of this and has the below statement on their website about their Smarties:

“All Smarties® candy made by Smarties Candy Company is vegan! There is no need to worry about your dietary and ethical choices coming in conflict with satisfying a sweet tooth. Smarties® candy is the perfect solution.

Smarties® ingredients contain no animal products, making them a tasty and cruelty-free choice for anyone looking for delicious vegan candy. Our Smarties® products are entirely free of meat, fish, dairy and eggs. You can be rest assured that the calcium stearate is plant derived, and that no animal products were used in the processing of our candy’s ingredients.

There are many reasons people choose a vegan or vegetarian diet including for their health, for the environment and for the animals. We are well aware of the importance of these issues, and we are delighted to offer a compassionate candy to satisfy the vegan sweet tooth!”

Furthermore, they also have a disclaimer on their website that acknowledges that not all Smarties in the market are manufactured by them. To this end, they advise consumers to always check the list of ingredients before making any purchase.

Questionable Ingredients Found in Smarties

smarties

Although the Smarties Company makes vegan Smarties, some vegans still question some of the ingredients used.

For instance, the artificial colors and flavors used – though vegan – undergo a series of tests before they are certified as safe for consumption. In most cases, dogs, cats, and mice are used in testing the different flavors. This exposes animals to pain and torture.

In addition, while most natural flavors are derived from plant sources, some are gotten from animals. However, animal-based products are also used in certain instances.

A good example of one such product is Castoreum. In both Europe and America, Castoreum is a liquid that’s derived from the anal secretions of beavers. It’s used in the enhancement of strawberry, vanilla, and raspberry flavors. If you have concerns about such ingredients, it’s advisable to stay away from most candies.

Smarties made by Nestle are not vegan.

The ingredient list for Smarties made by Nestle has milk chocolate. Milk chocolate is an animal-based product. Besides the animal-based products found in Smarties, some vegans believe that Nestle is generally not a “pro-animal” company. This is because Nestle, like many other companies, test the use of dyes and flavors on animals.

Vegan Alternatives

Although Smarties made by The Smarties Company is vegan, it’s still important to check the list of ingredients to ascertain you are buying vegan Smarties.

However, if you are still unsure, below are some Smarties alternatives you can consider:

Although some vegans find some of the ingredients used in Smarties questionable, choosing to consume them is a matter of preference. While some vegans may be okay with consuming the products as they are, others with more stricter standards won’t.

Marion

Marion is a Kenya-based freelance writer who covers a wide range of topics from politics and business to health and nutrition.

Is Almond Milk Vegan
Previous Story

Is Almond Milk Vegan?

Is Beer Vegan
Next Story

Is Beer Vegan?